Georgia State University Library
Ask a Librarian
Site Map |  Site Index |  Site Search
Home > Library Services > Technology and Computing > EndNote > EndNote Files, Filters, and Direct Export Instructions

EndNote Connection Files, Filters, and Direct Export Instructions

Customized Connection Files, Filters, and Direct Export Instructions Available

Database Endnote Information
ABI/INFORM Complete (at ProQuest) To direct export citations (no connection file or filter needed):

1. Perform your search
2. Mark the citations you wish to export into EndNote
3. Click "view marked documents"
4. Click "export citations into EndNote, ProCite, RefWorks or Reference Manager"
5. Click "export directly to ProCite, EndNote or Reference Manager"

NOTE: EndNote does not pull the year data into citations exported from ABI/Inform. In order to get the year to display, do the following:
1. In your EndNote library, select all of the citations you have just exported from ABI/Inform.
2. Go to the References menu>Change and move fields...
3. On the tab, you want to move the data From: Date To: Year
The date information should now display in the Year field, which will allow you to sort your citations by date.
Academic Search Premier (at EBSCOhost) IMPORTANT NOTE: Academic Search Premier exports references as "Generic" reference type, which will cause the reference not to display properly (particularly in APA5). You must manually change the reference type in order for the reference to display properly as a journal article, newspaper article, book, etc.

To direct export citations (no connection file or filter needed):

1. Perform your search
2. Mark the citations you wish to export into EndNote by clicking on the "Add" folder icon
3. Click "folder has items"
4. Click "save to disk" at the top of the result list
5. Click on the "bibliographic manager" tab
6. Select the "citations in direct export format" radio button
7. Click the "Save" button
8. Choose the desired EndNote Library
Ageline Connection file: AgeLine.enz
AGRICOLA To direct export citations (no connection file or filter needed):

1. Perform your search
2. Mark the citations you wish to export into EndNote by clicking on the "Add" folder icon
3. Click "folder has items"
4. Click "save to disk" at the top of the result list
5. Click on the "bibliographic manager" tab
6. Select the "citations in direct export format" radio button
7. Click "Save"
America: History & Life To direct export citations (no connection file or filter needed):

1. Perform your search
2. Mark the citations you wish to export into EndNote by ticking the "Tagged" box beside each citation
3. Click "export options" tab at the top of the page
4. Select the "short entry" radio button
5. Select the "tagged entries" radio button
6. Select the radio button beside the EndNote logo
7. Click "Export Records"
Art Abstracts To direct export citations using the WilsonWeb filter:

1. Perform your search
2. Mark the citations you wish to export into EndNote by tickin the checkbox in front of each citation.
3. Click "print email save"
4. Expand the "export to bibliographic software..." section
5. Select the " The [# of] records in your marked set" option radio button
6. Select the "the EndNote filter" radio button
7. Click "Export"
8. EndNote will open and prompt you to choose a library, then to choose an import filter from the list--select the WilsonWeb filter.
Biography Index To direct export citations using the WilsonWeb filter:

1. Perform your search
2. Mark the citations you wish to export into EndNote by tickin the checkbox in front of each citation.
3. Click "print email save"
4. Expand the "export to bibliographic software..." section
5. Select the " The [# of] records in your marked set" option radio button
6. Select the "the EndNote filter" radio button
7. Click "Export"
8. EndNote will open and prompt you to choose a library, then to choose an import filter from the list--select the WilsonWeb filter.
Biological Abstracts To direct export citations (no connection file or filter needed):

1. Perform your search
2. Mark the citations you wish to export into EndNote
3. Click "submit"
4. Click "[# of] records marked"
5. Click "export to reference software" at the bottom of the page
6. Click "export"
Business Source Premier: Enhanced Business Searching Interface (at EBSCOhost) To direct export citations (no connection file or filter needed):

1. Perform your search
2. Mark the citations you wish to export into EndNote by clicking on the "Add" folder icon
3. Click "folder has items"
4. Click "save to disk" at the top of the result list
5. Click on the "bibliographic manager" tab
6. Select the "citations in direct export format" radio button
7. Click "Save"
CINAHL Plus with Full Text: Nursing and Allied Health (at EBSCOhost) To direct export citations (no connection file or filter needed):

1. Perform your search
2. Mark the citations you wish to export into EndNote by clicking on the "Add" folder icon
3. Click "folder has items"
4. Click "save to disk" at the top of the result list
5. Click on the "bibliographic manager" tab
6. Select the "citations in direct export format" radio button
7. Click "Save"
ComAbstracts To direct export citations (no connection file or filter needed):

1. Perform your search
2. Click "add to folder" beside each of the citations you wish to export into EndNote (a new window will open each time you do this)
3. In the last of your folder windows, tick the check-box beside each of the citations you wish to export
4. In the drop-down menu, choose "Download checked items in RIS format (for Procite, EndNote, etc.)"
5. Click "Submit"
6. Save the file to your desktop.
7. Right-click on the file, and go to "Open with"
8. Choose EndNote from the programs listed or, if EndNote it not listed, select "Choose program..." from the list--then select EndNote from the "Open with" list that appears.
Communication and Mass Media Complete To direct export citations (no connection file or filter needed):

1. Perform your search
2. Mark the citations you wish to export into EndNote by clicking on the "Add" folder icon
3. Click "folder has items"
4. Click "save to disk" at the top of the result list
5. Click on the "bibliographic manager" tab
6. Select the "citations in direct export format" radio button
7. Click "Save"
Current Contents Filter files for Current Contents (1992-1997 and 1998 to date), created by Virginia Benjamin at UGA, are available for download from UGA's EndNote web site

Once you have downloaded and saved the filters to your EndNote Filters folder:

1. Perform your search
2. Click "save" beside each citation you wish to save (Note: You will want to save and email your citations in two separate groups if you have any citations dated before 1998--one with citations dated from 1992 to 1997, and one with citations from 1998 to present.)
3. Click "email saved records"
4. Enter your email address and click "send"
5. Open the email and save it as a text file (.txt)
6. Use the appropriate filter to import the .txt file into EndNote
Current Contents Connect To direct export citations (no connection file or filter needed):

1. Perform your search
2. Mark the citations you wish to export into EndNote
3. Click "update list" to add the records to your marked list
4. Click "my list" at the top of the page
5. Click "export to reference software" at the bottom of the page
6. Click "export"
EBSCOhost Databases To direct export citations (no connection file or filter needed):

1. Perform your search
2. Mark the citations you wish to export into EndNote by clicking on the "Add" folder icon
3. Click "folder has items"
4. Click "save to disk" at the top of the result list
5. Click on the "bibliographic manager" tab
6. Select the "citations in direct export format" radio button
7. Click "Save"
EconLit To direct export citations (no connection file or filter needed):

1. Perform your search
2. Mark the citations you wish to export into EndNote by clicking on the "Add" folder icon
3. Click "folder has items"
4. Click "save to disk" at the top of the result list
5. Click on the "bibliographic manager" tab
6. Select the "citations in direct export format" radio button
7. Click "Save"
Education Abstracts To direct export citations using the WilsonWeb filter:

1. Perform your search
2. Mark the citations you wish to export into EndNote by tickin the checkbox in front of each citation.
3. Click "print email save"
4. Expand the "export to bibliographic software..." section
5. Select the " The [# of] records in your marked set" option radio button
6. Select the "the EndNote filter" radio button
7. Click "Export"
8. EndNote will open and prompt you to choose a library, then to choose an import filter from the list--select the WilsonWeb filter.
ERIC (at EBSCOhost) Filter: ERIC_(EBSCO).enf
GIL - GSU Library Online Catalog Connection file: Georgia St U.enz
Global Health To direct export citations (no connection file or filter needed):

1. Perform your search
2. Mark the citations you wish to export into EndNote by clicking on the "Add" folder icon
3. Click "folder has items"
4. Click "save to disk" at the top of the result list
5. Click on the "bibliographic manager" tab
6. Select the "citations in direct export format" radio button
7. Click "Save"
Historical Abstracts To direct export citations (no connection file or filter needed):

1. Perform your search
2. Mark the citations you wish to export into EndNote by ticking the "Tagged" box beside each citation
3. Click "export options" tab at the top of the page
4. Select the "short entry" radio button
5. Select the "tagged entries" radio button
6. Select the radio button beside the EndNote logo
7. Click "Export Records"
Humanities International Index (formerly American Humanities Index) To direct export citations (no connection file or filter needed):

1. Perform your search
2. Mark the citations you wish to export into EndNote by clicking on the "Add" folder icon
3. Click "folder has items"
4. Click "save to disk" at the top of the result list
5. Click on the "bibliographic manager" tab
6. Select the "citations in direct export format" radio button
7. Click "Save"
IngentaConnect IMPORTANT NOTE: References imported from IngentaConnect will need some tweaking once imported to format properly in EndNote (i.e., you will need to add the year and change the reference type from "Generic" to "Journal Article").

To direct export citations (no connection file or filter needed):

1. Make sure you have registered with IngentaConnect and are signed in (this will enable you to mark references and save them to a marked list)
2. Perform your search
3. Mark the records you want by checking their check-boxes
4. Click "update marked list"
5. To view the marked list select "marked list" from the upper right-hand corner of the screen
6. On the Marked List page, click the "export (EndNote)" link
[EndNote will open and prompt you to choose a library to put the references into.]
JSTOR Filter files (link to JSTOR web page of information): JSTOR EndNote Page
Mental Measurements Yearbook To direct export citations (no connection file or filter needed):

1. Perform your search
2. Mark the citations you wish to export into EndNote by clicking on the "Add" folder icon
3. Click "folder has items"
4. Click "save to disk" at the top of the result list
5. Click on the "bibliographic manager" tab
6. Select the "citations in direct export format" radio button
7. Click "Save"
Periodicals Index Online (formerly PCI/Periodicals Contents Index) To direct export citations (no connection file or filter needed):

1. Perform your search
2. Mark the citations you wish to export into EndNote
3. Click "selected records"
4. Click "export directly to ProCite, EndNote or Reference Manager"
Philosopher's Index Connection file: philosophers_index_sp.enz
Project Muse To direct export citations (no connection file or filter needed):

1. Perform your search
2. Mark the citations you wish to export into EndNote
3. Click "save marked results"
4. Click "email/export saved results"
5. Select the EndNote radio button under "export marked results to:"
6. Click "Export"
PsycARTICLES (at EBSCOhost) To direct export citations (no connection file or filter needed):

1. Perform your search
2. Mark the citations you wish to export into EndNote by clicking on the "Add" folder icon
3. Click "folder has items"
4. Click "save to disk" at the top of the result list
5. Click on the "bibliographic manager" tab
6. Select the "citations in direct export format" radio button
7. Click "Save"
PsycINFO (at EBSCOhost) To direct export citations (no connection file or filter needed):

1. Perform your search
2. Mark the citations you wish to export into EndNote by clicking on the "Add" folder icon
3. Click "folder has items"
4. Click "save to disk" at the top of the result list
5. Click on the "bibliographic manager" tab
6. Select the "citations in direct export format" radio button
7. Click "Save"
PubMed Connection file: pubmed(NLM).enz

Note: The import filter file that came with EndNote is not up-to-date. A current version is available for download from the EndNote Support web site
ScienceDirect To direct export citations (no connection file or filter needed):

1. Perform your search
2. Mark the citations you wish to export into EndNote
3. Click "display checked docs"
4. Click "export citations"
5. Select "citations" or "citations+abstracts" to export
6. Select "RIS format" as your file format
7. Click "Export"
SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts) Filter file: scifinder.enf
Social Work Abstracts Connection file: swa.enz
Web of Science To direct export citations (no connection file or filter needed):

1. Perform your search
2. Mark the citations you wish to export into EndNote
3. Click "submit"
4. Click "[# of] records marked"
5. Click "export to reference software" at the bottom of the page
6. Click "export"
World Shakespeare Bibliography Filter file: world_shakespeare_bibliography.enf
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Filter file: worldwide-pol-sci-abs-CSA.enf

DIRECT EXPORT to Endnote

Several database vendors support direct export to Endnote. Using this option eliminates the need for a connection file or a filter. Database vendors that currently support direct export include EBSCO, Web of Science, Project Muse and Science Direct. Basic instructions for using direct export include the following:

This process will vary slightly among database vendors.  For further information or assistance, please contact Joel Glogowski.